Detailed view for the Book: Complete Fairy Tales, The (Collection)


Complete Fairy Tales, The (Collection)



Fairy Tales
Short Stories


Review Author
George MacDonald - Complete Fairy Tales, The - 4 StefanY


Rate this book Review this book
Average Enjoyability:
1 votes
Average Rereadability:
1 votes
Average Complexity:
1 votes
Average Character Development:
1 votes


# Date Publisher Binding Cover
1 1999-00-00 Penguin Classics  

Buy this book from Amazon (US)

George MacDonald occupied a major position in the intellectual life of his Victorian contemporaries, and his dazzling fairy tales earned him the admiration of such twentieth-century writers as C. S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, and W. H. Auden. Employing paradox, play, and nonsense, like Lewis Carroll's Alice books, MacDonald's fairy tales offer an elusive yet meaningful alternative order to the dubious certitudes of everyday life.

The Complete Fairy Tales brings together all eleven of George MacDonald's shorter fairy tales, including "The Light Princess" and "The Golden Key," as well as his essay "The Fantastic Imagination." The subjects are those of traditional fantasy: fairies good and wicked, children embarking on elaborate quests, journeys into unsettling dreamworlds, life-risking labors undertaken. Though they allude to familiar tales such as "Sleeping Beauty" and "Jack the Giant-Killer," MacDonald's stories are profoundly experimental and subversive. By questioning the concept that a childhood associated with purity, innocence, and fairy-tale "wonder" ought to be segregated from adult skepticism and disbelief, they invite adult readers to adopt the same elasticity and openmindedness that come so naturally to a child.

• The Fantastic Imagination (essay, 1893)
• The Light Princess (1864)
• The Shadows (1864)
• The Giant’s Heart (“Tell Us a Story”, 1863)
• Cross Purposes (1862)
• The Golden Key (1867)
• Little Daylight (1871)
• Nanny’s Dream (1886)
• Diamond’s Dream (1886)
• The Carasoyn (1871; expanded from “The Fairy Fleet”, 1866)
• The Wise Woman, or The Lost Princess: A Double Story (“The Lost Princess”)
• The History of Photogen and Nycteris (“The Day Boy and the Night Girl”, 1879)

An authoritative edition of the shorter fairy tales of George MacDonald, "one of the most remarkable writers of the nineteenth century" (W. H. Auden)

"I have never concealed the fact that I regarded him as my master . . . The quality that had enchanted me in his imaginative works turned out to be the quality of the real universe, the divine, magical, terrifying and ecstatic reality in which we all live." --C. S. Lewis

Who is online

Registered users: Google [Bot]